Automotive News Updates

Alliance names Ford’s Kumar Galhotra as 2022 board chair

  • Share


WASHINGTON — The Alliance for Automotive Innovation has named Kumar Galhotra, Ford Motor Co.’s president of the Americas and worldwide markets group, as its 2022 board chair.

Galhotra succeeds Chris Reynolds, Toyota’s chief administrative officer for company assets in North America, who was the 2021 chair.

Normal Motors President Mark Reuss was the affiliation’s inaugural chair in 2020.

“That is an unimaginable time of transformation for all the automotive trade, and I stay up for serving to lead the cost into the electrical automobile future,” Galhotra mentioned in an announcement Wednesday.

The alliance “is uniquely positioned now to construct on the groundwork laid over the previous a number of years and form the long run as public coverage assumes ever extra significance within the transition to electrical and linked transportation,” he mentioned.

Galhotra was honored by Automotive Information as a 2018 All-Star for serving to to revive Ford’s Lincoln model.

The alliance represents most automakers within the U.S. in addition to some suppliers and tech corporations. Its members — together with Ford, GM, Toyota and Volkswagen — are investing billions of {dollars} in electrification because the trade works towards attaining a aim of 40 to 50 p.c EV penetration by 2030.

“Because the auto trade works to attain a cleaner, safer and smarter transportation future, the direct involvement of senior trade leaders on our board is a big benefit relating to realizing key trade priorities and funding,” John Bozzella, CEO of the alliance, mentioned within the assertion.

“I’m wanting ahead to working with Kumar as we construct on the accomplishments of our affiliation,” Bozzella continued, “and I admire Chris’s and the Toyota crew’s sturdy management by 2021 as we navigated a remarkably difficult atmosphere.”


Supply hyperlink

  • Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.